Free MOT Retests

If your vehicle fails it's MOT Test, you will need to have the defects identified as 'major' or 'dangerous' repaired to enable the vehicle to have a re-test and pass.

There may also be 'Minor defects' (Repair as soon as possible) or 'Advisories' (Monitor and repair if necessary) listed on your MOT Certificate or Refusal of MOT.

Having failed its MOT test, your vehicle may not be legal to drive until it is repaired and re-tested.
(Although we have no rights to withhold your vehicle should you choose to take it away).

If you wish to take your vehicle away to be repaired elsewhere, you are only legal to do so if your current MOT certificate is still valid and the vehicle did not fail with any defects listed as 'dangerous'.

If my vehicle fails, can I get a free MOT retest?

The DVSA states that any vehicle is eligible for a free MOT restest if it meets either of the following two criteria;

  1. The vehicle stays at the MOT testing station, having failed its MOT test, with the necessary repairs re-test performed within 10 working days
  2. The vehicle is returned to the same testing station for a re-test by the end of the next working day, with the vehicle having failed exclusively on items from the following list.
  • battery
  • bonnet
  • boot lid
  • doors (including hinges, catches and pillars)
  • loading door
  • dropsides
  • tailgate
  • access panels
  • towbars (excluding body around anchorage points)
  • fuel filler cap
  • fuel filler cap
  • headlamp cleaning or levelling devices (that does not need a headlamp aim check)
  • lamps (excluding headlamp aim)
  • main beam 'tell-tale'
  • rear reflectors
  • mirrors
  • windscreen glass, wipers and washers
  • registration plates
  • horn
  • steering wheel
  • seats
  • seatbelts (but not anchorages), seatbelt load limiter and seatbelt pre-tensioner
  • brake pedal antislip
  • electrical wiring
  • trailer electrical sockets
  • sharp edges or projections
  • tailboard
  • tyre pressure monitoring system
  • wheels and tyres (excluding motorcycles and motorcycles with sidecar)
  • vehicle identification number (VIN)

The following items are relevant for Class 5 vehicles only

  • break glass hammer
  • door open warning device
  • emergency exits and signs
  • entrance door remote control
  • entrance/exit steps
  • stairs

PLEASE NOTE: This list is subject to change solely at the DVSA's discretion, so may become outdated. For the complete and up-to-date list, please visit the DVSA website.